Floral Shorts

Deborah, it’s snowing. Why is your post called “Floral shorts?” I will tell you: it has been a very strange week. And, since I can’t call it I had an unexpected day off so I literally did nothing but check my work email in bed, eat, try to talk myself out of eating ice cream since it is literally freezing outside and watch Netflix, I am encompassing the weirdness of this week in an unexpected, and strangely timed purchase, of floral shorts. Now you know; let’s carry on.

Like I said… this week has been, well, weird. I had a long day on Monday, but left early because it was snowing. (I left early but I still worked a 9 hr and 15 minute day.) Tuesday, we had a snow day. I got some work in from home, but it was a weird day. I don’t know what to do with myself on a day off in the middle of the week. It was WEIRD. Since I’ve been fighting a cold, I didn’t go out in the snow (for the first time ever). Josh spent most of the day doing homework, which was necessary and I told him to, but it stunk. We watched The West Wing and 24, we had BLTs for lunch and soup for dinner, and I bummed around all day. It was weird.

Let’s clear something up. I work with a lot of people from the North. My family is from the North. I am from the South. I have fought it, but it’s true… I moved to South Carolina when I was 10, and I learned to drive there. I have never driven in the snow (Monday was a first, as it was snowing on my way home). So this morning, I was terrified. I decided to get a late start, but our driveway is covered in snow, which is covered in ice… so Josh drove me to work. I felt ridiculous… the main roads are totally fine. It’s just our driveway, and the driveway/parking lot at work. Oh well. I’m a Southern girl, and now I am admitting it.

The snow isn’t over! They’re calling for more tonight and the temps are staying low low low (as in the negatives!). Good thing my man is coming to get me tonight. 🙂 So, I have been humbled today, having to ask for and accept help from my husband. It’s good to be humbled. We were planning on going to Olive Garden tonight for date night, but since it looks like we have another storm coming, we’re opting to hit the grocery store instead. We’re going to get everything necessary for homemade burrito bowls, have salsa and guac, and have a cozy night in. (I do not even feel cheated as long as I get guac in my mouth STAT.)

Also, I ordered short sleeve shirts and shorts from Old Navy this weekend (in prep for DISNEY!). They shipped this morning. Yes, this contributes to the weirdness of this week. One minute I said to Josh “I need more sweaters, I have nothing to wear in this cold.” The next, I said “I just bought this adorable tank and these floral print shorts!”

Rightfully so, Josh looked at me like an alien. This time I understood that look.

I feel like I have nothing to say. I have been pretty down, tired, not feeling good this week, and it has just been weird. I have worried about getting my hours in. I have worried about the snow. I have worried about whether or not our budget is good enough this month. It is, and we’re fine. But the raw truth is that I have spent the last few days lonely, worrying, and not feeling good. I haven’t said nice things to myself, and I’m working on it.

floral shorts
These shorts are on their way to my house. Think I can wear them next week?

 

Dear Josh,

Thank you for making some time to snuggle with me yesterday. I’m sorry for complaining about the work you had to do, instead of being thankful that you had the extra time, which you needed. I’m looking forward to a cozy date night. Thanks for driving me into work, and for not making fun of me. Even though this week had been a little stressful, trying to figure out how to get our work hours in, etc, I’m glad I don’t have to do it by myself. I’m so thankful that we do our budget together, and plan conservatively. Meanwhile, as long as we have power, I will be making yummy food. Hope you’re ready for some out of this world burrito bowls tonight, and some chicken alfredo pasta tomorrow!

Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

Leave a comment