Best Burritos

Summary statements concerning Wednesday:

We didn’t have burrito bowls, we had corn dogs.
We didn’t have date night, we had a long serious, emotional disagreement.
We didn’t get my car out of the snow.

Thankfully, there was a shovel at work, and we borrowed it. While I made dinner last night, my knight in puffy coat chipped away at the ice on our driveway. My little Elantra is finally free, and I drove myself to work this morning!

Last night, we had a feast. I mean honestly, it was maybe my favorite meal of the year thus-far. So, recipes are below. Click for links!

Burrito Bowls with an amazing chipotle cream sauce, cilantro lime chicken, and cilantro lime rice.
I have no pictures of my own because we eat food too fast… and there’s no point of taking a picture of an empty plate.

We had an assembly line set up on the table… rice, chicken, lettuce, beans, corn, homemade salsa, chipotle cream sauce, cheese, avocado, tomato… I was in heaven. So many fresh, healthy ingredients…. it was worth ALL the prep (and it was a lot of prep). It was the kind of meal that I wish I could make every day… everything was healthy, everything was made from scratch. It just took 2 hours (because I was solo), and it was after working 9hrs and 45min straight. Josh was outside shoveling, and Aaron was upstairs. It was just me, my skillet of chicken, my spices, my new recipes. Yes, I may have briefly resented the fact that I was working so hard on dinner by myself… but I also loved the “mmms” as they devoured their food. I loved that Aaron tried new things, and liked them. I loved enjoying Chipotle-like food at an affordable home-made price, and I love that we have leftovers.

This week I have felt stuck in a rut, like my car. Sometimes I am so jealous that Josh is the one in school, learning new things, and I have the monotonous job of a daily commute, answering phones, paying bills, and making life happen. I eat the same things every day, I do the same things everyday. Even though I was tired last night, I needed the victory of that meal. I needed to show myself that I really can cook chicken in a skillet and I won’t give my family food poisoning. I needed to open some peppers in adobo sauce (new to me) and make a new sauce. I needed to pull spices off my spice rack, without following a recipe, and flavor that cooking meat. So, as Josh freed my car from the ice, the burritos freed me from feeling trapped in the day-in-day-out routine.

As a rare occurrence, we didn’t sit at the table for dinner. We sat on the couch and watched The West Wing. It was, frankly, the perfect end to a long day, and the best day in a hard week.

Tonight, I’m taking leftovers to my friend’s house. I’m going to sit at their house and read, while little Evie sleeps, and they enjoy an evening out. I could not be more excited. I have been looking forward to this for like two weeks.

This weekend, Josh is finishing up his Ethics class which is a lot of work. Aaron and I have dubbed this “Downton Abbey” weekend… and I fully intent to drink tea during our marathon. Hopefully I will make some more progress on the baby quilt (it really is almost done, so I’m not feeling rushed), but this is another un-structured weekend.  I hear Josh is taking me out for dinner on Saturday night, and I’m not complainin’!

 

Dear Josh,

Thanks for digging my car out of the ice and snow! I know it was hard, and cold… but I really appreciate it. I am SO glad those burritos were such a hit. Thanks for your enthusiasm and appreciation.
WE HAVE FINALLY REACHED THE END OF ETHICS. I am so excited to have you back. Finish strong!! And then, we can celebrate with a date. Sound like a plan?

Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

Leave a Reply

