What I’m Reading in 2016: When God Doesn’t Fix It

As I have shared in a previous post, my goals this year are mostly focused on taking care of myself so that I can take care of others. The most radical change has been creating a purposeful time of prayer and reading each morning. (It doesn’t necessarily happen first thing in the morning on the weekends, but otherwise I am diligently doing it first thing before work.)
My morning devotional routine involves 3 things:

  1. Prayer
  2. Scripture Reading
  3. Devotional Reading

I record who/what I’m praying for, read a chapter of scripture (going through Genesis right now), and read a chapter of a book I have selected for enrichment purposes. Real talk: if I try to start with reading the Bible, I won’t absorb nearly as much as if I make reading the Bible my second reading… which usually happens halfway through my coffee. This has been working for me!

whengoddoesntfixit

This month, I am reading When God Doesn’t Fix It by Laura Story. I don’t even know how to express how much I have loved this book. Laura and I graduated from the same college, and I applaud her handling of scripture. She unpacks hard Biblical truths with integrity and clarity. She speaks from experience, and doesn’t always put herself in a good light. This book is incredibly encouraging, because she reminds the reader about things that are fundamentally true of our God. He is good, he has a plan, and all things are meant to be for His glory.
Maybe you’re not going through a trial right now, so you feel like the content doesn’t apply to you. Here’s what I know: you have either gone through a trial, or you will in the future. Since trials are inevitable, I think it is important to have resources at your disposal to encourage you and remind you of the truths that are hard to speak to yourself. I strongly recommend this book; it’s packed full of good theology, feelings and thoughts I have related to, and pierces through the lies we believe about (and in the midst of) trials. Laura’s vulnerability is beautiful, as she shares the way God molded her heart and mind and used a tragic situation to grow her. I haven’t quite finished the book, but I have read the majority- enough to say GO BUY IT.

signature.bird

Leave a Reply

