2016: Looking Forward

As I reflected on last year, I saw a common theme… doing things for others. I’m not trying to puff myself up, but it was a year of sacrificial giving and I have found myself saying (more than once) “I’m taking care of everyone else… who is taking care of me?”
I started this year saying this HAS to change. My goal was/is to establish habits and routines- no matter how small- that make me feel like I’m taking care of me. Josh and I hope to have a family in the next few years… and as wonderful as that is, I know even more will be demanded of me since babies need a little bit more attention than the people I have in my life right now.  😉 I want to be purposeful in establishing some self-care habits this year. So, this is what I am setting out to do.

  1. Take care of my body.
    That includes using lotion after a shower, washing my face before I go to bed, brushing my teeth twice a day, taking a daily multi-vitamin, continuing to put good food in my body, and make exercise a priority. These may seem like obvious things to do… but there are so many times I feel like I can’t slow down and take care of myself. That’s going to change.
  2. Take care of my brain.
    That includes reading. I realized I only read like 4 or 5 books last year! This year, my goal is to read at least one book a month, or 12 books in the year. Hopefully I’ll read more, but I feel like one book a month is at least achievable. I want to keep challenging myself by learning to make new things…. new recipes, new sewing projects, I want to keep learning. I also want to say nicer things to myself.
  3. Take care of my soul.
    This is probably the most radical change I am making, but the most important. I have struggled with having a quiet time. I have tried doing it during lunch, I have tried doing it before bed, I have tried doing it when I first get to work. Those worked, for a time… and then I would skip a day because I was tired, stressed out, or some other stupid reason. Because Josh and I have been talking about the next 5 years and when we want to have kids (not any time soon, people), I have been thinking about habits I want to carry into the season of Motherhood. A daily quiet time is something I know I need for myself, and I want to serve as an example for my children. Growing up, I saw my mom sit at the kitchen table every morning with her coffee and her Bible. We knew that a day wouldn’t start without mom spending time with the Lord, and I am so thankful for her dedication and her example. I was thinking about this the other day and realized that it is only going to get harder to establish that habit. If I want my kids to see my start every day with the Lord, I need to make it a habit now. So that’s what I’m doing. I’m getting up 20 minutes earlier… sitting down with a book, journal, Bible, and coffee and starting my day the right way. Today was the first day of this habit, but I’m excited about it continuing.

20160108_064407

How are you taking care of yourself? What goals have you set for this year?

Leave a Reply

