French Bread? No, it’s called Lembas Bread

I am bursting-at-the-seams-excited about today…. because MY MOM IS COMING TODAY. We have big plans: the drive in movie theater (Minions and Jurassic World), board games, mango margaritas, and thrifting.

This week has been so so so much fun. My house is packed full of people I love, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I think this is one of my favorite things about summer. In so many ways, I have been spoiled by summer. We have been able to spend time with so many people, we have enjoyed sleeping later (it takes less time to drive into work without the school traffic), and I have enjoyed extra time in the evenings with Josh (un-distracted by school!).

Wednesday night, Josh and I had our date at Chick-fil-a. We went straight after work, so that we could have a date but also spend time with Andrew and Aaron. We had lots of deep conversation, and processing time- which I desperately needed. I take a lot of time to process things… my thoughts, emotions, etc… I have to write about it, think about it, and talk about it. I’m so thankful that my husband is someone that listens and also helps me think through things.

When we got home we played a few games of 7 Wonders all together. I feel bad (but honestly not TOO bad) because I keep winning… every single game. The thing is that it’s Josh’s favorite game. I mean… y’all. I have beat him every time, even if it’s by one point. Anyway.

Last night was a lot busier than I expected. I got home, started my french bread, started laundry, made bacon, made salsa, prepped meals for the weekend, cut up cantaloupes, cleaned out the kitchen, watched the Office with the guys, and feasted on BLTs. By the time I finished all that… it was 9pm. I got so much done- I saved time from the rest of the weekend, but I was disappointed that it took so long. I SO wanted to hang out with them and kick their butts in board games! We ended up only playing one round of Kingdom Builder– but Josh beat me by a few points. 🙂

One note- I made the same french bread as last time but this time I put the garlic powder and Italian seasoning straight up into the dough. OH MY STARS. Andrew calls it lembas bread (Lord of the Rings) because he had one sandwich and was full. I think he is onto something. The guys had one sandwich each, and no one complained of being hungry. Major score.

I am truly trying to enjoy every minute, because I know tears are waiting on Sunday when my family leaves. 😦

 

 

Dear Josh,

I can’t believe it is already the weekend… this week has absolutely flown by! I have been thinking how much the two of us have grown in the last year. This time last year, it seemed absolutely daunting having someone live with us for a week- especially someone with allergies. Obviously, our living quarters have grown since then and so have my cooking skills, confidence, our budget, and experience. I can’t wait to introduce everyone to our drive in movie theater, to feed them all weekend, and to break out the grill. It’s so easy to focus on all the things we have sacrificed in this season of life, and difficult to focus on the blessings… but this week the blessings have been so evident. I’m grateful.
Can’t wait to come home and start this crazy awesome weekend!
signature.bird

Leave a Reply

