Fourth of July 2015

I am so happy to report I am feeling better! Now, don’t get me wrong- I’m still exhausted. Life has been full, we have been busy, and that is good… but I’m tired. Our 4th of July was not full of fireworks… but we did have burgers three days in a row. I don’t know if that is something to brag about, but it was good. How did you spend your 4th?

Friday, we went to Ikea. We had good conversation on the way, which I feel like we’ve been missing a little bit lately. Between being sick and being insanely busy, we have just been making life happen. Sometimes it is a challenge to slow down and make sure we’re connecting in meaningful conversation. It’s also difficult to have meaningful conversation when you feel like crap… so I am not pointing fingers, I’m just stating facts. Anyway, we had fun walking around Ikea. Last time we went, we were on a mission to obtain furniture for the new place… this time was a little more relaxed approach. We compared our styles, decorated fictional homes, and made lots of “that would be so nice to have, but we don’t need it so we’re not going to get it” decisions. One thing we DID get was a french press! I figured a cheap one would work for my cold brew? We’ll see.

After Ikea, we headed to the Gilmore’s house. We seriously had such a great weekend with our friends. Driving away, we commented how blessed and encouraged we have always been observing their marriage, and now there’s an added blessing of seeing them as parents. Obviously our weekends look a little different since they’re parents… playing board games isn’t as easy with a 6 month old. 🙂 BUT it’s so GOOD. Friends, thanks for letting us love on your son. I’m glad I taught him how to smack his lips like a fish because it is literally the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. Thanks for showing us that parenthood is hard, but also a joy. Thanks for being a physical picture of how Christ delights in His children… as you delight in yours. Anyway, that’s the important stuff from the visit! I’m so thankful for these pause and play friends.

godparents

Last minute, we arranged for my youngest brother to come stay with us for the week! He just got his first job (WOOT WOOT), so that means he won’t be free to take a week later in the summer. We ended up going through Columbia on the way home to get Andrew, and we have basically had non-stop fun ever since. Obviously, I am still working every day… but going home is so much fun. We’ve been going on walks, playing games, and obviously eating. My mom will be coming up this weekend, and Andrew will go back with her then. It has been so so fun to see my brothers (Andrew and Aaron) and my husband enjoying time together. Naturally, I’m jealous that Josh’s schedule is more flexible and he gets to spend more time with Andrew. However, I’m thankful that Andrew wants to- and gets to- spend so much time with Josh. Today they’re at the Zoo, but tonight we’re spending time together. (I cannot tell you how badly I wanted to call in sick today.)

Like I said, life has been busy… but there are so so many things to be thankful for.
I’m thankful for friends that we’re so close to, we call them family…
I’m thankful for friends that show me how much JOY motherhood holds…
I’m thankful for positive family relationship we get to foster this week…
I’m thankful that we have the resources and space to open up our home….
I’m thankful for a job where I get to learn, grow, make mistakes, and ask questions…
The list goes on. What’s on your list today?

flowers.jpg

Dear Josh,

This week has been so fully of blessings. Quality time and encouragement with friends, so much fun with family, and deep conversation together. I’m so thankful that you’re my partner in life. I love that I can share everything with you- the joys like giggling with our godson, the sorrows- as I process losses, the uncertainty- as we look at the future, and our faith- as we challenge each other and work through things. Today, I hope you guys are having SO much fun at the zoo. You three share such a love for God’s creation, and it’s cool to watch you guys enjoy it.
See you for date night! Meanwhile, I’m missing you (and thinking about the 401-K plan we need to sign up for… we’re old!).

signature.bird

Leave a Reply

