Recipe Time: Pasta

This recipe is marrying a few of my favorite things… the super cheesy pasta bake that is my go-to for company, the way I like to make spaghetti, and a little bit of creativity. For this pasta, you need a few simple ingredients. This fed about 7 people (but consider that I was feeding hungry men).

Ingredients
1 Jar of Red Pasta Sauce
1 jar of Alfredo Sauce
1 Bell Pepper (I used green)
1/2 Onion (I used yellow)
1 Box of Pasta (I used garden rotini, but I can see this working with any pasta you wish)
1 Cup of Parmesan Cheese
6-8 Meatballs (I used Turkey meatballs)
Additional cheese to sprinkle on top

IMG_6413

1. Set your pasta water on the stove, and cut up your onion and pepper while you wait for that pot to boil. Saute those onions and peppers in a little bit of olive oil, and prepare your pasta according to the directions.

2. Drain your pasta. In the pot you just used for the pasta, combine both cans of sauce, the Parmesan cheese, and the sauteed veggies (I threw some garlic in). If you want to add additional spices, do so now. I meant to… but I forgot… and it was still delicious. I would have added some Italian seasoning… had I remembered either time.

3. Dump that delicious mixture into a 9×13 pan.

4. Cut up your meatballs (I cut each meatball into 4 pieces so that they were bite size). Scatter those pieces across the pasta, and press into the pasta slightly if you wish (I didn’t want certain people to see all the meatballs and pick them out… confession!!!).

5. Take whatever shredded cheese you have on hand and sprinkle over the top.

6. Cover with foil and stick in the oven at 350 for 25-30 minutes, OR stick in the fridge. Whenever you want to heat it up, take it out of the fridge while you pre-heat the oven (it helps the middle not to be so cold) to 350, and stick it in the oven for 35-40 minutes.

7. Serve it up! We had it with garlic bread and salad, and the result was smiling faces. 🙂

The first pan went pretty fast, so I actually made another! It is super quick to throw together, especially in advance. I assembled it over the weekend, and stuck it in the oven when I got home from work.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend. I don’t have much planned, so hopefully it will be restful. I’m dreaming of a margarita on the back porch, simple meals, and sunshine. Isn’t that what weekends are made of?

signature.bird

Leave a Reply

