Eating on the Road

When I go on a trip, I don’t want to be slowed down. I don’t want to drag it out, I don’t like to stop, I just want to get there. If we stop frequently and take our time getting there, then by the time we FINALLY get there it feels like I have been in the car forever. Since we live over 9 hours away from Disney World, I really wanted to limit the number of stops (we did really well and only stopped twice!). SO, I spent some time brainstorming healthy things to pack for breakfast, lunch, and snacks. This is what we came up with:

1) Breakfast: yogurt, clementines, cheese sticks, granola bars.
This couldn’t have been easier. We had a few disposable spoons, and chucked all the trash when we stopped. It required very little money, and we had extra clementines and cheese sticks for breakfast during the week!

2) Sandwiches.
I had some bacon in the fridge, and I learned that cooked bacon lasts for over a week in the fridge! (Did you know that?) I cooked all the bacon we had left, and made some Turkey Club Sandwiches for me and Josh… that turkey, cheese, bacon, lettuce, tomato and mayo (plus Italian Seasoning for me, Red Robin seasoning and BBQ sauce for Josh) carried us well through the afternoon. Additional bonuses, besides happy taste buds, were saving money, decreasing stops, and having control over the ingredients of our lunch. Since we never make bacon for our sandwiches, it made our lunch extra special. I really wished I had made more… 🙂

3) Snacks.
Our snacks of choice included Teddy Grahams, Sun chips, and Trader Joe’s puffed popcorn.

wpid-img_20150509_121038.jpg

I used to think it was so boring when my mom packed sandwich stuff on road trips, but now I think it’s genius. Next time we hit the road, we’ll be packing meals again! I couldn’t get over how much time/money we saved, and how good it felt to eat healthy food on the road. Hopefully this inspires you to do the same!

signature.bird

Leave a Reply

