It’s ok.

The Cornelissens are so desperately thankful for the rain. We are totally over the pollen thing… we would like to be able to breathe, see, walk outside, and even sleep through the night.

I won some small house battles (not arguments with people in my house, but tasks that have seemed to daunt me) this weekend- I got rid of that pile of laundry, I cooked for my family, I hung up pictures (about time), and got rid of clutter. Honestly, this weekend was an emotionally tough one. We have been really praying and wrestling through some future decisions, and I have been struggling.

One of the main things I’m struggling with is feeling like I give, give, give (my family, my growth group, at work) and I don’t have someone pouring back into me. So instead of continuing to feel hopeless and alone, I reached out and asked one of our pastors for some help. I desperately need to meet with someone who has been where I am, and can help me walk through this season. And it’s OK to admit that I need that… since I’ve reached out I’ve been affirmed by multiple parties that it’s GOOD. It’s also humbling.

My crochet project is coming along very nicely! I used up the entire ball of yarn, and learned how to add a new ball (thanks, Google)… and Michael’s has had 50% coupons this week… so I have been stopping by every day to get a $1.70 ball of yarn (we calculated that one ball of yarn occupies me for about 9-10 hours, so that’s entertainment for $0.15-0.18 per hour).

The only other headline for this week is “BREAKING NEW: DEBORAH HAS KEPT HER ROOM CLEAN FOR THREE DAYS IN A ROW.”

Tonight is date night, and I’m looking forward to just spending time with Josh. We have planned an evening of Chili’s, an errand, and some baking, which is fairly relaxed because this weekend is shaping up to be a fairly social one. Josh’s family is going to be stopping in this weekend for a short visit, which we’re really looking forward to! But no matter how much we love anyone visiting, it takes energy, and I think we’re really recognizing the value of resting together. I’m hoping tonight proves to be relaxing as we soak up some quality time together.

 

Dear Josh,

I am so thankful for your encouragement and affirmation over the last couple of weeks. I know it has been really hard- but it is so freeing to know that you’re not going to be frustrated with me for limiting our plans or for having simple plans because it’s the best thing for my own health. There is no way I could be more excited about spending this evening with you. Hopefully this afternoon goes by swiftly.

signature.bird

One thought on “It’s ok.

  1. It’s good to know when help is needed and the best place to get it. Kudos for having the skills to crochet. I can do one long line that would stretch from here to Raleigh and will have successfully created the world’s longest headband. (lol) Have no clue how to get everything connected so I leave it to the true experts such as yourself. Hope your week is totally fab! Hugs…

Leave a Reply

