Steps & Emotions

Small triumphs: hitting 10k steps more days this week than not, fixing my work computer (windows updates are miraculous when they haven’t been run in over a year), and protecting time with my husband.

I have meals planned for the rest of the month.
I have clean clothes.
I have gas in my car.
I have matching socks on.
I have left the house on time every single day.
I have done crunches/sit-ups every single morning.
I’m learning that I need to celebrate the small victories.

Not much is going on here. I mean there IS a lot going on, but you don’t want to read about all my feelings, and I don’t have a way to make finding a new routine sound interesting. Work has been busy, and I am still awaiting my review. Cooking this week has been re-heating leftovers. I’ve traded hours on the couch in the evening for walking in place trying to get all my steps in.

Hopefully life will calm down a little so I can empty that laundry basket of clean clothes… truly finish my godson’s quilt, hang some pictures on our bare walls, go shopping and use up some of my Christmas giftcards. Life is full, and I’m thankful.

Last night was date night. It was THE BEST. I came home from work, we put our exercise clothes on, and we went for a long walk in the neighborhood across from our house. (Long meaning 4,000 steps worth of walking.) Then we grabbed my free entre birthday coupon, and went to Moe’s! We had a delicious meal of burritos, chips, and queso. Our entire walk/meal was full of conversation and it was so fun just to BE together. Just us, no one else. We talked about our days, about Josh’s classes, the recent sports drama (which I brought up, yay me!), and laughed together. It’s pretty great being married to your best friend. After Moe’s, we headed home and enjoyed an episode of The West Wing (while finishing our steps) and then an episode of Parks and Rec. Then, we were asleep by 9:30. Best date night ever. Exercise, queso, tv and snuggling, and TONS OF SLEEP.
More triumphs: eating half of my burrito (even though it was so good and I wanted to finish it) because I was full, also we reached 10,000 steps together (third day in a row I’ve met my goal!).

This morning, I am frustrated at work. Sometimes I have to remind myself that I got this job 8 months ago, I had no previous experience doing this, and I’ve learned on the fly. I am GOOD at what I do. But sometimes it’s assumed I know more than I do. Today is one of those days. I can’t just “handle” it. So, I’m doing my best.
Yes, work is hard. My emotions are not in favor of this place today. But that’s why I can’t live based on emotion. If I made decisions based on emotion, I wouldn’t be married anymore, I probably would have a smashed phone, and I would have rear-ended multiple cars. I would also be in copious amounts of debt, not have enough closet space for my clothes, and I would have every single wall in my house covered in pretty wall hangings. Now, doesn’t that sound ridiculous?

Tonight, Josh and Aaron are having their weekly “nerd” night. That means I have a date with a glass of wine and my tv shows.

 

Dear Josh,
Thank you for protecting our time together. I have so much fun being with you!
It is so fun to see you and Aaron having fun together, and I’m so glad you get to have a nerd night. Even though work is tough today, I’m thankful for the way God provided this job, and the fact that I can take care of us because of this job. It’s a blessing, even though it’s sometimes hard to view it that way.

Can’t wait to see you when I get home. I’m excited to eat dinner with you guys, and I hear all about your days.
Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

2 thoughts on “Steps & Emotions

  1. You just gave me the greatest idea! Its been so cold and rainy here the last few days so i have not gotten my walking in, but why cant i just walk in place while im watching tv or something? Great job!

Leave a Reply

