24

This was my first “grown up” birthday.
Married, working full time, with a commute to and from work.

It was, in one word, anticlimactic.

The day started with the realization that I did not remember to reset my alarm…. so I was awoken before 6:30, and saw a text from my boss saying not to come in until 10 because of ice on the roads. So I pressed snooze, I’m pretty sure for the first time in my life, and went back to sleep. (Until 7.)

I did some laundry.
Josh made me cheesy eggs with spinach (the best), and warmed up come cinnamon rolls. I stuck a candle in my cinnamon roll and sang myself happy birthday. We cuddled on the couch and watched Parks and Rec.
I moved the laundry into the dryer.
Josh packed my lunch, I took a shower.
I went into work. I worked like crazy, ate lunch at my desk, and left at 4:30 because “goshdarnit it’s my birthday.” (My boss laughed at me. Also– all my co-workers are men. The running joke is that I’m so young I’m practically in middle school and they love to play the “have you heard of this tv show/song/movie/person?”… so they all asked me if I was finally in my 20’s.)

I came home to an empty, quiet house. So naturally, I watched one of my tv shows and folded laundry.
And promptly started another load.
Because that’s what every girl wants for her birthday… clean laundry. Really, it was the best gift I could give myself, since my dresser is now filled with my favorite sweaters and jeans- but now they’re clean.

Yes, I am aware that my birthday was incredibly mundane. It was not exciting. And honestly yesterday evening I cried because I felt so boring and I was disappointed at my lack of creativity for my own birthday.

My perspective was WAY off. I got to spend my birthday doing a job that I (usually) like. I like the guys I work with. I got to wake up slowly with the man I love and I get to be married to. I’m thankful for a washer and dryer, and I don’t have to use quarters to operate them. I have all the clothes that I need, and even ones I don’t “need” but get to enjoy.
I had a rotten attitude, and was blind to the multiple blessings of yesterday. So today, I will recount them and be thankful for them.

I’m thankful for my husband: that man who sits on the floor and holds me when I sit on the floor crying because I’m overwhelmed by the changes in our life. The man who made my birthday dinner for me when I didn’t want to make it myself. The man who watches HGTV shows with me on Netflix because I love them, and he loves me. The man who brought home a card and purple daisies because it was my birthday. The man who makes my lunches so I can sleep a few extra minutes.

wpid-img_20150114_092519.jpg
This hero scraped the frozen tundra off my car so I could go to work!

 

Last night after the meltdown, my husband made my ravioli pasta, salad and garlic bread (and Merlot for me) and we watched an episode of The West Wing (joyfully interrupted by two phone calls, from my Grammy and my mom). We had popcorn, we had ice cream cake, I had sparkling wine, and we watched the Property Brothers. It was not a super exciting day, but it didn’t need to be.
Birthdays used to be a super big deal. Maybe they’re not anymore, and that’s ok… because my entire life is good. It is full of blessings, and those should be celebrated every day; not just the one day a year when you get a cake with numbers on it.
Lest you think I am full of wisdom, please remember that yesterday I had a horrible attitude, and hind-sight is 20-20.

wpid-20150114_205538.jpg

 

Dear Josh,
Thank you for all the things you did for me yesterday. I had the wrong perspective, and expected a big deal… I was wrong. Thank you for cleaning off my car, packing my lunch, making me dinner, buying me flowers and telling me all the reasons you love me, holding me when I was crying, buying me ice cream cake, watching my show with me, and going to sleep by my side. Today, with better perspective, I can see that I really had a wonderful birthday.
I love you, and I’m sorry that I have communicated the opposite through the way I have spoken to you and treated you.
I’m looking forward to date night tonight.

Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

PS. Also… this should be the year we watch one of my favorite shows, 24. I think the reason is obvious.

 

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”
Lamentations 3:22-23

Leave a Reply

