Ch-ch-changes

This weekend was a mixed bag of emotions. It was a weekend fun, challenges, laughter, hurt, tears, and joy. A lot is changing in our house, and with change come a lot of emotions.
This coming Saturday my brother-in-law is moving in with us. I’m excited… I’m scared… I’m sad… and I’m ready; all at once. It is something that Josh and I feel God has called us to do, so I have peace and I’m ready. It is a sacrifice, so I am scared and sad. Aaron is moving in for a purpose, and that is to accomplish some goals and work towards independence. I am so proud of him, and so humbled that we get to help him accomplish these goals. Please pray for us. Pray that Josh and I learn how to make our marriage a priority with another person sharing our house. Pray that Josh and I are full of patience, that we have grace to serve selflessly, and that we are able to communicate well.

Part of this weekend was spent together, in realization that soon we will not have this house to ourselves. We will have to share all the space. Part of it was preparing Aaron’s room, and preparing ourselves for his arrival. The other part of this weekend was the last of our Christmas celebration.

“Josh’s day,” the date day I planned for Josh as part of his Christmas present, happened on Saturday. It was a “choose your own adventure”- like the books Josh enjoyed from his childhood. I found a website that let me write a story and Josh could choose the next part as we went along. Naturally, he did not have total control as I was the writer and forced him to a few places. Josh’s adventure day included breakfast at home (cinnamon rolls and egg burritos), a trip to the used bookstore where he got to pick out some books, and then we went to Duke University! Duke was a good idea; the campus is gorgeous (see some pictures below), but the weather was SO cold. We looked like penguins! After we shuffled around, we headed to lunch in Wake Forest. The original plan was to get Mediterranean food, but he had done that the day before… so we went to Five Guys instead. After that, he had two choices: Home or Surprise. Unsurprisingly, he picked Surprise, and we went to see The Hobbit. Honestly, I wasn’t a huge fan of the Hobbit trilogy and I’m a huge Lord of the Rings movie fan… but I was pleasantly surprised by the last movie.

wpid-20150110_132136.jpg

wpid-20150110_131730.jpg

 

wpid-20150110_131721.jpg

 

In recent life: I’ve been insanely motivated by the Fitbit to walk. I walk in place over my lunch break now, and have started walking at home in the evenings if we watch a tv show. I’ve been drinking more water, I added some exercises into my morning routine, and I’m more conscious about what I’m eating. Those may be small changes, but they’re huge changes for me.

Tonight we’re helping our friends load up their life in Wake Forest and move to Texas. We’re so sad to see them go, but we’re thankful for the blessing they’ve been to us and the way they welcomed us into the group. Love you, Longos!

Tomorrow is my birthday! I’m making pasta, Josh let me get an ice cream cake (that gem of a man drove to like 5 stores until I found the kind I wanted), and I’m looking forward to a quiet evening with a nice dinner, a glass of wine, a movie, and my best friend.

 

Dear Josh,
Life is about to change, and I’m glad you’ll be here through it all. I’m so thankful that we’ve listened to the Lord and responded to him- together. Please forgive me when I’m nasty… when I need alone time I haven’t taken, when I feel like my “rights” are violated, and when I don’t even have a reason.
I’m looking forward to celebrating another year of life– and I am very excited about my ice cream cake. Thanks for getting into the search with me, and setting me free to get one.
I love you. And I am pretty excited that I might have a delayed start at work tomorrow so I get to spend more time with you!
Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

Leave a Reply

