Silver Linings

Monday night was full of homework for Josh, dinner together, and catching up on TV shows for me. I didn’t pack any boxes. I sat in my bed, wearing my favorite sweatpants, and tried to pretend I didn’t have a million things to do.

After a rough Tuesday morning, and a frustrating day at work (I’m trying to figure out why our contract value in our billing, accounting software, and the actual contract ARE ALL DIFFERENT NUMBERS), and times I didn’t think I was going to be able to breathe because of all the stress, I came home. My husband and I updated the budget. We packed boxes. We went to Growth Group. I was unkind. I apologized a lot. I cried because I don’t know what to get people for Christmas.
Wednesday I woke up at 5am and started making lists… shopping lists, things I need accessible right away during the move, ideas for what to wear to the Christmas party, Christmas present ideas. My day at work was busy at times, slow at times. Josh and I made salsa, packed a bunch of boxes, did some grocery shopping, picked out what we’re wearing to my company Christmas party, and I majorly freaked out about the move.
Thursday, Josh did a TON of packing at the apartment, which has greatly blessed me. We did some work at the house when I got home from work. Our friends came and ate sandwiches with us, and helped us build a dresser as well as hook up the dryer. I tried to make some progress on our kitchen (we have less storage in the new kitchen), and put together some pasta for lunch on Saturday. It was SO GOOD to cook something again.
Friday, my coworker, who has planned the entire company Christmas party, took me up on my offer to help out. She’s graduating with her masters tomorrow, AND trying to pull off this party. So I went to help her set up, and took a lot of responsibilities off her plate since she will be coming to the party late. I didn’t get a lunch break, which meant getting paid overtime. BUT apparently a complimentary room at the hotel, where the Christmas party is taking place, was reserved. My friend didn’t know, and paid for a room… so Josh and I got the complimentary room. I’m pretty stoked. It will be fun to stay in a nice hotel- for free- especially the day we move. A clean bathroom? A big bed with fresh sheets? A place without boxes of stuff everywhere? Sounds heavenly.
Tonight is full of packing. We have no choice… but we’re almost done! I am so thankful for the friends that are going to help us, and I’m so thankful for such a nice home.
I am so thankful today. Despite all the stress, there have been many blessings. So tonight I’m going to work like a team- because Josh and I are the best team in the world. Tomorrow I’m going to praise God for our friends, and thank them with a meal of pasta, salad and bread, and go to my company Christmas party– where I will thank God for my job, my coworkers (that I get to show the love of Christ to every day), and unexpected blessings like free hotel rooms.
Dear Josh,
This week has been so hard, and I am so proud of you. I’m sorry for snapping at you under stress, and I’m sorry for hurting your feelings. Thank you for doing so much to help with the move, and for telling me what you’ve needed to do academic-wise.
I’m so excited to introduce you to all the people I work with, to move into our new home, and enjoy the blessing of a night away (even if it’s just downtown).
I love you.
Love, Mrs. Cornelissen
Leave a Reply

