In Sickness and Health

Wednesday evening I met my husband (and a couple of friends) at our new place- and hugged my new (to me) washer and dryer. They’re gorgeous, you guys. Exactly what I asked God for, and the price that we could afford. Also, our friends are awesome. Thank you guys for moving those monsters upstairs for me. You’re my heroes.
After I realized I had to stop staring at my beautiful counter tops, wood floors, and spacious dining room, Josh and I went to Red Robin for our date. Banzai burger- it has a teriyaki glaze and a pineapple slice- and mango margarita for me. (I didn’t sign a covenant at the seminary!) After that we headed to Walmart…. to get cold/flu medicine for me… yeah that’s a hot date, huh? We concluded our date night with The West Wing. I demanded we watch it sitting in bed because I was too tired to be anywhere else… and I proceeded to sneeze my brains out. Because my husband loves me, he sat next to this sicko and even held my hand. Also, he watched Love It Or List It with me in the middle of the night when I woke up, medicine having worn off, coughing up my guts. All the things he does say I love you; picking up a washer and dryer, sitting with me in the middle of the night, packing my lunch… he makes me feel like the most special girl in the world.

Thursday, I made my sick self go to work. I was in a major fog… but I paid the bills, answered the phone, did AIA billing. I basically took comfort in the fact that every minute I sat feeling miserable, I was getting paid. That make everything a little better. I spent the day counting down to 5pm. Thursday night I made carrot cake, one for us and one for our neighbor. Then we headed to have pizza with our friends! It was SO good to spend time with them. Life has been so busy, and I’ve been so sick the past couple of months that I haven’t spent time with friends in a long time. I was up for a while in the middle of the night… I left my medicine at work, accidentally, and was pretty miserable. (Not to be graphic here but I have a pretty intense sinus infection/cough thing going on…. it’s… just… gross.)

Today, I’m at work… wishing I was home sleeping. We had planned to go to the drive in movie tonight (they are playing the 3 Hunger Games movies)… but I don’t think it’s a great idea to be out in the cold while I’m so sick. So instead Josh is planning something at home. ALSO he’s picking up the dining set today. I am SO excited. I’m coming to the realization that there’s really not much to pack up in our house… which is both nice AND frustrating because I feel like I should be packing and there’s nothing to pack.

That’s it… I have no other words, I’m just barely here.

I lost my voice and sound like a teenage boy.

I feel like I’m going to be sick forever.

I’m going to go make some tea.

 

Dear Josh,

I am so thankful for the way you’ve taken care of me. I know we vowed in sickness and health, but I don’t think either of us expected so much sickness this year. I know it’s temporary, and it will get better… meanwhile, I’m so glad I have you to take care of me and make me laugh.
Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

2 thoughts on “In Sickness and Health

  1. You make me want to pretend to be sick just so my husband can dote on me lol. I hope you feel better soon! By the way I’m new at this blog thing and I just love reading yours. My life is not near as exciting as your so I tend to only write about important stuff but part of me wants to write about say to day things, I just don’t think it will be interesting enough for anyone to follow.

    1. Haha! Thanks!
      I’m new to the blogging thing too… I don’t write about life because it’s exciting, but because it helps me focus on the blessings! If others enjoy reading it that’s kind of a bonus, since the blog is selfishly for me if we’re being honest, and if others are encouraged then that’s a God thing!
      Keep up the blogging! 🙂

Leave a Reply

