In honor of November 19th, 2011

Has it really been 3 years? 3 years ago, Josh and I went on our first date. Granted, we weren’t sure it was a date…. but it was. After weeks months of liking Josh, and hanging around after class to talk to him, we finally started spending time together outside of Hoke Auditorium. It started with a lunch, to talk about Josh’s semester in Israel, progressed to LOTS of Facebook chatting, meeting in the student center, hanging out at his apartment, going to the North/South game just to see him, and going to Waffle House together.

Our “date” wasn’t exactly intended to be a date, I don’t think. He phrased it as “I need to run errands and use up a Groupon. Want to come?”
YES. Of course I wanted to, because he wanted to spend time with me.

I went to my dorm and told my roommate, Kim, “I think Josh just asked me on a date, but I’m REALLY NOT SURE.”
Turns out he called his friend Sam and told her “I think I just asked Deborah on a date, but I’m REALLY NOT SURE.”

He turned it a date… and then confused me all day.

He came to my house to go over Herm. stuff with my dad. Then Josh took me to the library (an actual errand), Starbucks (to get holiday drinks, and he doesn’t even like coffee- but he drank coffee that day), Riverfront park (we walked and talked for hours), a used bookstore (he bought me a collection of Flannery O’Connor stories- called “A Good Man is Hard to Find.” Let’s be clear- I picked it out…. but how perfect, right?), and dinner.

Yes, I know this story is located in a link at the top of the blog… but it’s just my favorite story to tell.

Why was I confused all day? Because he was SO sweet to me, and kept referring to our “friendship.” He even thanked God for our friendship during his prayer for the food. I tried not to cry.

On the way home, he told me he liked me. And good thing. I sure liked him… especially since he planned a day with all my favorite things; a beautiful fall walk at my favorite park, coffee, books, and a burger.

Now I like him AND I love him, something we didn’t say until the day we got engaged on December 28th, 2012… but that’s another blog post. 🙂

beginning

As far as this week is concerned, here are the basics:
Monday night I got home at 5:30… I fell asleep at 6:30, and woke up at 6:30 the following morning.
I am sick again, hopefully this time it’s just a cold.
We found a dining set and we’re getting it this weekend! (Our landlord is the best and letting us move it in early. 🙂 )
Also, we just found a washer and dryer this morning. BOOYA. God has provided everything we needed for the new house!
We have a date tonight at Red Robin. I am super stoked.

 

Dear Josh,
First, I love our story. Second, I love that you are sentimental and suggested going on a date including the river, bookstore, and burgers to celebrate our 3 years! 🙂 (I was thinking the same thing and I love that you suggested it.) Third, I have been so blessed in these three years, being your girlfriend, then fiance, and now wife. You have made me SO happy and I can’t imagine doing life with anyone else.
I can’t wait for our date tonight, and I am so thankful for the ways God has provided for our needs. I love being your girl, and I’m looking forward to spending all my years with you.
Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

Leave a Reply

