Timesheets and Wisconsin

It has been a very long day, and blogging was not an option this morning. My boss is on vacation this week, and I have assumed some of his responsibilities… including time-sheets. Today, time-sheets have been the bane of my existence. It looked so easy when he explained how to do them, but then my program didn’t act like his did… the computer decided to call all office time “personal,” therefore not paying us… and all I have is office time so when I pulled my time sheet and it said “0” hours I almost screamed. THEN I realized what had happened, after I had approved everyone’s time-sheets, which had locked them so I couldn’t edit them. (That was a very short sentence that summarized about 3 hours of confusion, agony, and manual adding of each employee’s time.)

Friday. We were on the road by 6pm. The last time we went to see Josh’s family, we got hit by a deer. No, we did not hit the deer. The deer literally rammed the side of the car. Yes, the car was totaled. Yes, insurance covered half of our “new” car. Yes, I love my new car. Anyway…

On the way to see them, we saw at least two deer. One was just standing in the middle of the road. Josh honked, and after our hearts started beating again, he said at least it acted like a normal deer and ran away from us. 🙂
We got to hang out with Josh’s family, and slept very soundly.

Saturday. After a big breakfast, we went up to Virginia Beach, spent some time at Grandma and Grandpa’s house, and went to the parents weekend events at Regent (with an actual Regent parent, my mother in law). That included bounce houses, face painting, and animals! I got to hang out with Lucy, she’s 1 and 1/2 and sooo cute. She loved the bunnies, scared the goat, and wanted everyone’s food. I know she probably likes me because I look kind of like her mom, but I’ll take it. She wanted to be held a lot, and I loved it. After the Regent festivities, we had lunch at Chick-fil-a.
In the evening we had a birthday celebration for Grace (12) and Kaity (21)! Birthday Celebrations= mom’s lasagna, cake and ice cream, and presents.
Late Saturday night, Josh’s parents and sister decided to go up to Wisconsin to see Josh’s grandpa, who is in the hospital and not doing well. Lots could be said, but it boils down to this: everyone is worried about him. This weekend was filled with indecision, pros and cons, and lots of opinions. In the end, they decided to go, and I think that’s what they needed to do.

Sunday. The night was especially short, as we went to bed late and got up early. Josh and I got our stuff packed up so we could help everyone else get packed and ready to go. Josh and I ran errands- bank, Walmart, loaded vehicles, and went back to Virginia Beach. Around 4:30, mom, dad and Kaity headed to Wisconsin, and Josh and I headed to Wake Forest.

Yes, this weekend was hard, but I’m glad it’s the weekend Josh and I had planned to spend with his family. Sometimes it’s hard being a couple of hours away from family, because we want to be there for them. This weekend we were. I’m so glad I got to play with Lucy, run errands, give rides, and help people process and make decisions. We’re in constant prayer for the family in Wisconsin.

Monday. As I mentioned, today has been a challenge. My “to-do” list has been insanely long, and I barely put a dent in it today. No, I haven’t been bored, but I sure am tired. Also, it’s been a WEIRD day. Just a few minutes ago, someone came in a told me that they locked their keys in their car and wanted to use my phone because his cell phone died. Of course I did, and then also told him not to park in our parking lot again because he would be towed. Anyway the guys friend couldn’t help, so he called the police.
At least I got my file folders, highlighters, sticky notes, etc today! I ordered a box of office supplies last Thursday, and on Friday I received 15 20-oz containers of sugar instead. Whooops. Now we have a ton of sugar AND office supplies. (And I have a bunch of moving boxes!)

 

Dear Josh,

I’m so proud to be your wife. Even though it was a hard weekend, it was such a blessing to me to see you loving on your family this weekend and serve them alongside you, whether that meant making Lucy laugh, working on the car with your dad, or buying your mom’s favorite candy. I am proud of you for bringing up the hard conversations and grateful that you value my opinion so highly.
Tough situations always reveal character, and we’ve had a lot of tough situations lately. I’m blessed to have a husband with such high character- I’m proud of you and glad I stalked you after class until you asked me out. 😀

See you tonight for some of that leftover lasagna! It’s been a LONG day without you!!!!
Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

Leave a Reply

