Pass the Tissues

I know you’re asking “Why didn’t Deborah post on Monday? She always posts Monday, Wednesday, Friday!” Just kidding. I know you probably didn’t even realize there’s a pattern. Well, regardless, there is a good reason I didn’t write yesterday.

 

Friday, Josh met me at work. We headed straight for Columbia! Along the way we stopped for Chick-fil-a (trying to make healthy choices with side salads and all, people). Our car ride did not include Frosty Waffle Cones, but DID include some more WOW! hits. We got to the house just after 9pm, and spent the next 3 hours catching up with my favorite people.

 

Saturday, we had a big breakfast, I got to drink my coffee with my mom, and I had lots of puppy snuggles with Zoey and Sarg. I got to spend a LOT of time with my mom, actually, shopping for fabric and craft supplies, hanging out, and enjoying the coffee chocolate cheesecake I made for her birthday.  Josh and I tried to teach my family how to play 7 Wonders… turns out it’s a hard game to teach 5 people at the same time.

 

Sunday, we went to church, and had Cincinnati Chili at Sunday Lunch. Thankfully, my bff got to come! It was SO good to see Mary Grace! We hung out at my fam-jams until 5 (30-60 minutes later than I wanted to leave, but that’s ok) and began the trek home (driving home always seems to take SO MUCH LONGER). We stopped at Zaxby’s (salad, people) and continued the WOW! fun.

 

It’s hard to adequately summarize any time with my family. It’s SO good, and SO fun, and SO encouraging, and I always cry on Saturday night because I don’t want to leave.

 

I don’t know if it was the non-stop fun (serious lack of sleep), or the fact that I’ve been fighting the cold for a while, but Sunday, I was up in the middle of the night. My throat, scratchy and swollen. My body, achy and weary. My head, burning and pounding. I drank some tea and did the most mature thing I could think of…. I had a “I don’t want to be sick” mini-tantrum.

Well, as you may have assumed, that didn’t work. 7 am rolled around and I sent a “I’m sick and not coming in to work” text to my bosses. I don’t remember much until 11 am… I think around 8:45 I decided I should get up, which meant I walked into the kitchen and turned on the coffee pot… but got back into bed to wait until it was ready. I never heard the ready “beep beep beep” of the coffee pot… for I was sound asleep until nearly 11 am (and my coffee was freezing cold by the time I went to get some).

 

Today I came into work relying on the power of Tylenol to keep my headache (because I refuse to call it a fever) at bay. It actually worked. I caught up on Monday’s work by 11 am, and by 12 I had nothing to do.

 

So there’s the story of why there was no post on Monday. I tried to write it, sitting in my bed, but the words did not come. (In fact, I opened the draft this morning and it said “this morning I am writing, not from my desk, but from my bed.” And that’s all I wrote.)

Dear Josh,

I always wanted to marry a man that loved my family, but I hit the jackpot. I am so thankful for the way you love my family, and the way that they look forward to seeing you. I’m thankful that we take advantage of long drives to talk and laugh together. And I’m especially glad you told me to call in sick. Thanks for hanging out with me and doing nothing (aka watching Alias) because it hurt to move. You’re just my favorite. I’m so thankful for all the ways you take care of me.

See you soon!


Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

Leave a Reply

