Virginia (is for lovers)

Happy Monday! That was a little enthusiastic for this sleepy day. Good morning. Lest you think I am bright-eyed and bushy-tailed today, I think my eyes are going to be squinty all day, and I chose my outfit to permit wearing leggings, for optimum comfort. It’s not even cold outside. I just wanted the comfort.

 

Let’s recap. Friday I turned off my computer, wrote myself a note for Monday morning, and closed the door on work. (When I leave for the weekend, I LEAVE. That’s why I have to write myself notes. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t remember where I left off.) I went home and was delightfully surprised that my husband had done most of the things I had on my “before we leave” list, including changing the sheets on the bed, and was able to quickly get the last of my things together. I’ve been listening to old cds on my morning commutes because I feel happier starting my day singing to Jesus with Rebecca St. James than I do flipping around the radio trying to avoid Katy Perry and Iggy Azalea. So Josh and I thought it would be fun to visit some classics and gathered my WOW! cds together for the road trip.

We arrived at Grandma & Grandpa Sims house and it bustling with noise and excitement. (It was 9:30 and I was ready for bed, haha!) Grandma & Grandpa were at a football game, so we stayed up to see them (since they were leaving in the middle of the night to catch a flight to Canada), and then I went to bed. Sweet slumber.

 

Saturday we got to hang out with Josh’s Aunt, Uncle and cousins in the morning.  We were spoiled by my mother-in-law cooking for us, played games -including 7 Wonders, which Josh got for Christmas, and ended the day going to Kaity’s play, Pride and Prejudice. Kaity played Charlotte Lucas wonderfully, and I spent much of the play explaining the plot to Josh. The 8 hour movie is in our future. (The Keira Knightly version butchered one of my favorite love stories!!!!)

 

Sunday, I slept in so late that the family thought I had either died or snuck out of the house (I slept until 9:45, but that is insane for me). I needed that rest. We were spoiled with another big breakfast, and played MORE games! 🙂 Josh and I finished our laundry and left around 4:30, and enjoyed more of our walk through the Christian hits of the early 2000’s.

 

This morning, my alarm went off and it felt like the middle of the night. We stumbled to get ready for our walk, and it was raining. Like troopers, we walked anyway. A good life decision, but a really hard thing to make yourself do at 6:15 in the morning after a weekend away. Saying that I’m dragging today is a vast understatement.

 

Tonight we’re making our default “we don’t know what to make” meal (for the 3 evenings we’ll be at home this week), and trying to rest up for another weekend away. And, like we always do during the last week of the month, we’ll be going over the budget. Hopefully I’ll have some money to do some crafting for the upcoming sale!

 

Other life happenings:

-There are some impending changes at work that I am choosing to pray about instead of stress about.

-It has been 5 years since I went to Capernwray. What?! The Facebook group has been a buzz this weekend, with people posting “where are you now?” updates. So cool.

-I’m trying to strike a balance between productivity and rest at home. Yesterday I told Josh, “I don’t know why I’m so tired, all I do is work!” How ridiculous does that sound? Yes, I work and that doesn’t stop when I get home. But I need to remind myself that Josh didn’t marry some perfect version of me, he married the real life human Deborah who can’t do it all.

-Josh has fall break next week which is super weird. I’m a grown up. The closest I get is paid holidays.

-Currently, all our clothes are clean. Our towels are clean. Our bedding is clean. That just makes me happy.

 

Dear Josh,

Thanks for serving me by helping me on Friday. It was SO nice that I didn’t have to worry about making the bed, or cleaning the coffee pot, or driving to Virginia. I’m so glad we got to talk on the way, and to have fun listening to the tunes of our childhoods. Also, thanks for losing so gracefully in every game of 7 Wonders. That was pretty fun.

I’m glad I don’t have to do things alone. I don’t have to pack alone, go on early morning exercise walks alone, or make meals alone. (PS don’t forget to stick dinner in the crock pot!)

Praying you do well on your Matthew exam today, and I’m looking forward to some snuggles tonight. I love you. Mondays always seem SO long and horrendous after weekends with you.


Love, Mrs. Cornelissen

Leave a Reply

