Everyday Joys- Rain

It’s raining outside. I love the rain… and the colder the day, the better. My desk is under an air vent, and right beside a wall of windows… so I pretend it’s a cold, rainy day (it’s really 70 degrees and super humid).

Rainy days are just perfect. They bring life to the flowers, and to me. I long for a rainy day to myself.  A day of watching old movies (maybe that’s why I decided to read Breakfast at Tiffany’s in my down time today…), curling up with a good book, painting, baking, sewing… all indoors.
Rainy days are also perfect for putting on rain boots and puddle stomping. One time while I was in England, my roommate and I were on a walk and I jumped in a puddle and splashed water up to her face. I didn’t know she was so close, or that I jumped with such force. Frankly, I was impressed. (And.. well… she was very wet.)

Edinburgh, Scotland. I have never been so cold and wet in my life.
Edinburgh, Scotland. I have never been so cold and wet in my life.

The amount of complaining in the office has been overwhelming today. Why does everyone hate the rain?

I’ve had a hard time being at work today, with all the negativity and especially the boredom. I often find myself sitting at my desk, bored, for hours.. and often find myself discontent. Today, I’m choosing to be thankful. I’m thankful that it is raining.

 

Part of the reason I’m writing this blog is so that I can focus on things I’m thankful for. I will be posting more Everyday Joys on occasion, to make myself re-focus and to reflect on the things that nourish my soul.

Leave a Reply

